Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Life Finds a Way: What evolution teaches us about creativity by
Biologist Andreas Wagner reveals the deep symmetry between innovation in biological evolution and human cultural creativity. Rarely is either a linear climb to perfection--instead, "progress" is typically marked by a sequence of peaks, plateaus, and pitfalls. For instance, in Picasso's forty-some iterations of Guernica, we see the same combination of small steps, incessant reshuffling, and large, almost reckless, leaps that characterize the way evolution transformed a dinosaur's grasping claw into a condor's soaring wing. By understanding these principles, we can also better realize our own creative potential to find new solutions to adversity.
Ultimately, Life Finds a Way offers a new framework for the nature of creativity, enabling us to better adapt, grow, and change in art, business, or science--that is, in life.
Popular urban beekeeper Hilary Kearney challenges nature lovers, science fans, and beekeepers alike to "spot the queen" in 48 amazing fold-out photo challenges, accompanied by stories of the dramatic life of the queen honey bee and stories of swarm-capturing adventures.
Animals plainly know where they're going, but how they get there has remained surprisingly mysterious--until now.
In Supernavigators, award-winning author David Barrie catches us up on the cutting-edge science. Here are astounding animals of every stripe: Dung beetles that steer by the light of the Milky Way. Ants and bees that rely on patterns of light invisible to humans. Sea turtles and moths that find their way using Earth's magnetic field. Humpback whales that swim thousands of miles while holding a rocksteady course. Birds that can locate their nests on a tiny island after crisscrossing an ocean.
The age of viewing animals as unthinking drones is over. As Supernavigators makes clear, a stunning array of species command senses and skills--and arguably, types of intelligence--beyond our own. Weaving together interviews with leading animal behaviorists and the groundbreaking discoveries of Nobel Prize-winning scientists, David Barrie reveals these wonders in a whole new light.
The Mosquito by
A pioneering and groundbreaking work of narrative nonfiction that offers a dramatic new perspective on the history of humankind, this text shows how through millennia, the mosquito has been the single most powerful force in determining humanity's fate.
Slime: How algae created us, plague us, and just might save us by
Say "algae" and most people think of pond scum. What they don't know is that without algae, none of us would exist.
There are as many algae on Earth as stars in the universe, and they have been essential to life on our planet for eons. Algae created the Earth we know today, with its oxygen-rich atmosphere, abundant oceans, and coral reefs. Crude oil is made of dead algae, and algae are the ancestors of all plants. Today, seaweed production is a multi-billion dollar industry, with algae hard at work to make your sushi, chocolate milk, beer, paint, toothpaste, shampoo and so much more.
In Slime we'll meet the algae innovators working toward a sustainable future: from seaweed farmers in South Korea, to scientists using it to clean the dead zones in our waterways, to the entrepreneurs fighting to bring algae fuel and plastics to market.
Biology Database (Proquest)
This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
Agricultural and Environmental Science (Proquest)
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases with full-text titles from around the world, including journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Learning Express - Biology
Use your library card to login, set up a personal account and use the Biology Success eBook and test prep resources. Test prep includes AP Biology, nursing, health careers and MCAT entrance exam practice tests. Practice tests can be taken in "practice" or "learner" mode letting you choose whether to view answers as you go. Some tests include a timed "simulation" mode.
More Recent Books
Blueprint: How DNA makes us who we are by
In Blueprint, behavioral geneticist Robert Plomin describes how the DNA revolution has made DNA personal by giving us the power to predict our psychological strengths and weaknesses from birth. A century of genetic research shows that DNA differences inherited from our parents are the consistent life-long sources of our psychological individuality--the blueprint that makes us who we are. This, says Plomin, is a game changer.
Plomin has been working on these issues for almost fifty years, conducting longitudinal studies of twins and adoptees. He reports that genetics explains more of the psychological differences among people than all other factors combined. Genetics accounts for fifty percent of psychological differences--not just mental health and school achievement but all psychological traits, from personality to intellectual abilities. Nature, not nurture is what makes us who we are.
Plomin explores the implications of this, drawing some provocative conclusions--among them that parenting styles don't really affect children's outcomes once genetics is taken into effect. Neither tiger mothers nor attachment parenting affects children's ability to get into Harvard. After describing why DNA matters, Plomin explains what DNA does, offering readers a unique insider's view of the exciting synergies that came from combining genetics and psychology.
Plight of the Living Dead by
A science journalist chronicles his surreal journey through the strange evolutionary history of mind control and real-life zombies, and what it reveals to us about nature—and ourselves.
Strange Survivors: How Organisms Attack and Defend in the Game of Life by
Inside this funny, fascinating field guide to nature's most colorful characters, you'll meet killer snails, social bacteria, and an animal with toxic elbows. But Strange Survivors is more than a collection of curiosities--it is a love letter to science and an argument for the continuing relevance of this evolutionary battle as we face the threat of resistant bacteria and the need for novel medical therapies. Whether discussing blood-thinning bats and electric fish or pondering the power of cooperation, Pagán reveals the surprising lessons found in some of life's natural oddities and how the tactics they employ to live might aid our own survival.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction (ebook)
Use your library card to access this ebook from home.
Encyclopedia of Human Genetics and Disease (ebook) Greenwood, 2013
This encyclopedia examines the history, characteristics, causes, and treatment of genetic disease, as well as the science of genetics itself.
Biotechnology: In Context (ebook) Gale, 2012
Examines biotechnology and related subjects in the context of science, government, politics, culture and society, and the environment.
Biomes and Ecosystems (ebook) Grey House Publishing 2013
This 4 volume work serves as a general, nontechnical resource for students & teachers to understand the importance of biomes and ecosystems; to appreciate the study of ecology and how it affects life around the world; to learn of the flora and fauna in biomes and ecosystems; and to initiate educational discussion.
edX Biology and Life Sciences Courses
Founded by Harvard University and MIT, edX is an online learning destination and MOOC provider, offering courses from the world’s best universities and institutions to learners everywhere.
Catalogue of Life
A comprehensive, authoritative global index of species. The Catalogue holds essential information on the names, relationships and distributions of over 1.6 million species.
Audubon Guide to North American Birds
Conservation status, family, habitat, nesting, diet, and range. Multiple audio files for each bird's calls and twitters.
An online community of naturalists who enjoy learning and sharing observations of insects, spiders, and related creatures. Includes identification request link!
Butterflies and Moths of North America
Butterflies and Moths of North America (BAMONA) is an ambitious effort to collect, store, and share species data. Anyone can participate by submitting photographs of butterflies, moths, and caterpillars.
University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service
Over a century of service to Arkansas with locations in all 75 counties, this agency offers a wealth of resources.
Botanical Society of America
Offers a Resources page with information on specialty areas, careers, the PlantEd Digital Library, and extensive list of recommended websites by age and audience type.
Student teams doing real science collaborating online with scientist mentors from around the world.
Botanical Garden of the Ozarks
The Botanical Garden offers twelve themed gardens, the only butterfly house in NWA and education opportunities for all ages.