Whatever your party affiliation or politics, your beliefs need to start with an understanding of the Constitution, the 1789 document on which our government is based. Why are there three branches of government? What is executive privelege? What is meant by the Bill of Rights? This insightful guide answers these important questions and many others. It couldn't be more necessary and relevant in these complicated times.

The remarkable new account of an essential piece of American mythology--the trial of Lizzie Borden--based on twenty years of research and recently unearthed evidence. The Trial of Lizzie Borden tells the true story of one of the most sensational murdertrials in American history.

This rich collection offers Neil Gorsuch's most salient writings and speeches from his over three decades of thinking about the law as a student, practitioner, professor, judge, and now justice. For court watchers and the general public alike, it provides essential insight into his judicial philosophy and his views on the Constitution and the role of judges in our modern republic.

Thom Hartmann examines how guns have played important roles throughout American history, from early European settlement to the Revolutionary War and Manifest Destiny, through the use of Slave Patrols in the DeepSouth (which became the "well-regulated militias" so debated in 1787), to the assassination of John F. Kennedy and recent school massacres.

In a fascinating blend of biography and history, Joseph Tartakovsky tells the epic and unexpected story of our Constitution through the eyes of ten extraordinary individuals--some renowned, like Alexander Hamilton and Woodrow Wilson, and some forgotten, like James Wilson and Ida B. Wells-Barnett.

How American race law provided a blueprint for Nazi Germany
Did the American regime of racial oppression in any way inspire the Nazis? The unsettling answer is yes.
Whitman demonstrates that the Nazis took a real, sustained interest in American race policies. German praise for American practices, found in Hitler's Mein Kampf, continued through the early 1930's. American citizenship and anti-miscegenation laws proved directly relevant to the two principal Nuremberg Laws--the Citizenship Law and the Blood Law.
Indelibly linking American race laws to the shaping of Nazi policies in Germany, Hitler's American Model upends understandings of America's influence on racist practices in the wider world.

An award-winning constitutional law scholar at the University of Chicago (who clerked for Judge Merrick B. Garland, Justice Stephen Breyer, and Justice Sandra Day O’Connor) gives us an engaging and alarming book that aims to vindicate the rights of public school stu­dents, which have so often been undermined by the Supreme Court in recent decades.

Completely updated for the 18th edition, Legal Research shows you how to find statutes, cases, background information, and answers to specific legal questions online. Even more important, you’ll be guided to the most reliable and user-friendly sites, so you won’t drown in an information flood.

Criminal law is full of complex rules and procedures, but this book demystifies them. It explains how the system works, why police, lawyers, and judges do what they do, and what suspects, defendants, and prisoners can expect. It also provides critical information on working with a lawyer.

With compassion and expertise, family law attorney Emily Doskow explains how to make divorce less painful by helping you:
-understand the divorce process
-minimize day-to-day conflict with your spouse
-work with lawyers or mediators without breaking the bank
-avoid costly, exhausting court battles, and
-stay calm and make good decisions.
You'll learn about your legal rights and options for resolving tough divorce-related issues, including: child support and custody; alimony; property division; and, drafting a marital settlement agreement.

Presents a guide to the divorce mediation process, covering how to select a mediator, going to court, negotiation, financial settlements, and judgments in contested and uncontested divorce situations.

When domestic abuse and children are involved, divorce and custody can be the epitome of high-stakes conflict and frustration. This text reveals how all the puzzle pieces of the judicial process fit together -- judges, attorneys, mental health experts, children, spouses -- and how to overcome many of the obstacles along the way. Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation is an essential read for mental health professionals and lay people involved in divorce and custody, family court judges, family law attorneys, and mental health professionals involved in domestic abuse and custody matters.

"Get paid fairly and on time; protect yourself from harassment and discrimination; fight a wrongful termination; includes workplace laws for all 50 states"--Cover.

You know bankruptcy will help you get back on your financial feet. But which chapter type is best? The New Bankruptcy explains the benefits of Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 bankruptcy.
The 7th edition includes legal updates, worksheets, easy-to-use charts, and a sample bankruptcy filing on the latest official legal forms.

This book provides the information and encouragement you need to create security for your property, your children, and your health after you die or become incapacitated. In plain English, it covers every standard estate planning topic in detail. The information in this book will help you formulate your plan and will save you time and money, whether you create your own estate plan or go to a lawyer for assistance.

A Simple Will for Dying Well offers the perfect resource for any person living in one of the states* listed below which allow handwritten wills without the need for witnesses, notaries, or lawyers.
*States that allow handwritten wills: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

If you need to wrap up the affairs of a loved one who has died, you may feel overwhelmed--especially when you're grieving. But you can do it, and this book will show you how.

This book provides information you need to handle a case in small claim court, including how to evaluate your claim, figure out your best course of action, and represent yourself in small claims court. It provides advice for both plaintiffs and defendants.

This book is an essential overview of the employment laws and HR issues that every manager or HR professional should be aware of. In this book, you’ll learn the rules for interviewing and hiring employees, preventing discrimination and harassment, handling workplace problems, disciplining and terminating employees, and more. A must-have for any first-time manager or HR professional.

A reference for residential landlords shares comprehensive guidelines for saving money and maintaining legal requirements, providing coverage of everything from screening tenants to hiring a property manager.

"A step-by-step guide to forming a 501(c)(3) nonprofit in any state"--Cover.

Hitchcock, a physicist, engineer, and inventor who has worked as a computer consultant and on patent searching and new technology, explains how to do a patent search with only a small amount of effort and cost.

Patent It Yourself has guided hundreds of thousands of inventors through the process of getting a patent, from start to finish. Patent attorneys David Pressman and David E. Blau provide the latest information, forms, and clear instructions to help you: conduct a patent search the right way, evaluate your idea's commercial potential, prepare a patent application, market and license your invention, etc.

Whether you are starting a new business or thinking about an existing one, the big question is “Which legal structure is best?” The answer has important legal and tax consequences. LLC or Corporation? is packed with real-world examples to help you make the best choice for your company.
The 8th edition is updated with the new tax rates and deductions from the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act.

Ready to be your own boss? Whether you’re starting a full-scale consulting business or booking gigs on the side, Working for Yourself provides all the legal and tax information you need in one place.